• Biology

    Students will have the opportunity to participate in hands-on research.

  • The Biology program, offered by the Natural Sciences Department, leads to an Associate in Science (AS) degree. The goals of the Biology program are to introduce students to hypothesis-driven science and hands-on research through required coursework and supervised research laboratory internships, to connect students, biology and lived-experience through an integrated curriculum and to prepare students for successful transfer to a four-year college and ultimately graduate or go to medical school.

  • The Biology program is articulated with York College and students will be able to transfer all 60 credits. In addition, students will be able to transfer to other four-year CUNY institutions.


    Students graduating LaGuardia with an AS in Biology will be able to transfer and enroll in upper-level Biology courses without difficulty at an articulating four-year college, such as York College. The Biology curriculum at LaGuardia is modeled after curriculum that students attending four-year colleges would be expected to take during their first two years of study. LaGuardia graduates will have completed several general education requirements and several science requirements needed for completion of a Bachelor’s degree. Students will showcase selected assignments and accomplishments in a Biology ePortfolio that can be included in their admissions application or shared with potential faculty mentors at a specific senior college.


    Many LaGuardia grads also transfer to the College of Mount Saint Vincent, which offers six joint degree programs in Biology. Recently, New York Times Op-Ed Columnist Frank Bruni used the College of Mount Saint Vincent to illustrate the role of independent colleges in a speech to nearly 400 college and university presidents:



    An important aspect of the Biology curriculum is that students will have the opportunity to participate in hands-on research. All Biology majors will take Fundamentals of Biotechniques – a course in which students will perform common laboratory techniques, as well as learn the concepts behind these techniques. The most exciting aspect of this course will be designing experiments and interpreting data collected, while learning how to conduct research responsibly.


    The capstone course for Biology majors is Cell Biology. Here, students will conduct a small research project in class, and give oral presentations that can be deposited into their capstone electronic portfolios (ePortfolio).

    Current Students
    Log in to the CUNY Portal to review your Degree Audit to find out what classes to take. Have questions about using Degree Audit? Visit LaGuardia’s Degree Audit page for tutorials and how-to guides.


    Prospective Students
    Review the Biology Curriculum and the recommended course sequence below.

     
    For information about this program’s retention and graduation rate visit the Office of Institutional Research and Assessment website page.


    In support of the LaGuardia’s mission to educate and graduate its students to become critical thinkers and socially responsible citizens, the College has undertaken a team approach toward advising, designed to support you in your major from orientation through graduation.

    Your advisement team, made up of faculty and professional advisors, will guide you at every step during your college career. They are ready to help you:

    • Explore your major
    • Select introductory and advanced courses
    • Connect you with campus support services
    • Prepare an educational and career plan

    Visit the Advising page to learn more about when to get advised and how to prepare for an advising appointment.


    Please feel free to reach out to these advisors if you have any questions or need assistance, and visit laguardia.edu/visit for directions to campus.

    Advising Team Staff Members Email Phone  Office 
    Laura Barski, Advising Services  lbarski@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-5921  B 235 
    Marangely Colon, Advising Services  mcolon@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-5267  B 100N 



    Advising Team Staff Members  Email Phone  Office 
    Dr. Thomas Onorato, Program Director thomas.onorato@gmail.com 718-482-5763 M 207
    Dr. Olga Calderon, Faculty Member ocalderon@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-5749 M 220A
    Dr. Maria Entezari, Faculty Member tentezarizaher@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-6079 M 211
    Dr. James Frost, Faculty Member jamesf@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-349-4046 M 208
    Dr. Janet Gonzalez, Faculty Member jagonzalez@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-349-4082 M 220B
    Dr. Carol Haspel, Faculty Member chaspel@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-5744 M 202
    Dr. Joby Jacob, Faculty Member jjacob@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-6013 C 728F
    Dr. Charles Keller, Faculty Member ckeller@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-5748 M 217
    Dr. Amish Khalfan, Faculty Member akhalfan@lagcc.cuny.edu 718-482-6188 C 728H
    Dr. Onica LeGendre, Faculty Member olegendre@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-6100  C 728E 
    Dr. Philippe Mercier, Faculty Member pmercier@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-6182  M 221B 
    Dr. Howard Motoike, Faculty Member hmotoike@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482- 5322  M 216 
    Dr. Preethi Radhakrishnan, Faculty Member  pradhakrishnan@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-5746  M 213 
    Dr. Roman Senkov, Faculty Member rsenkov@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-349-4017  M 209 
    Dr. Benjamin Taylor, Faculty Member  btaylor@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-6191  C 728D
    Dr. Ingrid Veras, Faculty Member iveras@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-6197  C 728C 
    Dr. Boris Zakharov, Faculty Meber bzakharov@lagcc.cuny.edu  718-482-6074  M 221F 


    Graduates of LaGuardia’s Biology program are encouraged to continue their studies at senior colleges to obtain Bachelor’s, Master’s or Doctoral degrees, as the study of biology often leads to careers in medical and health professions that require advanced degrees. Alternatively, biology majors learn skills that are applicable to a variety of careers. Students are encouraged to discuss their interests and educational and career aspirations with a member of their Advising Team to best plan for the future.

    Below are some examples of careers that can be pursued with an education in biology:

     



    Explore career possibilities on Career Connect.